Skip to main content

Free guidance on degrees, universities, fees and scholarships in Pakistan

Contact Disclaimer
RaahNumaPakistan education guide

University

King Edward Medical University

PublicRecognisedW (HEC rating 2017-18, score 90.84%; per KEMU QEC page)

Oldest medical institution in Pakistan per its own history page (1860). Recognitions listed on the site: WHO, PMDC accredited, HEC approved, PMRC recognised. Journals: Annals of KEMU and JSPARK (quarterly); Annals of KEMU included in Journal Citation Report 2022 (Clarivate). 7 faculties; 9 attached hospitals. HEC quality rating…

Location
Lahore, Punjab
Established
1860 (site: '158 Years of Excellence in Medical Education 1860 to 2018'); year of university status not stated
Chartered by
Government of Punjab
Campuses
1
Program offerings
61

Details

Sector
Public
Year established
1860 (site: '158 Years of Excellence in Medical Education 1860 to 2018'); year of university status not stated
Category / discipline
General
Province
Punjab
City (main campus)
Lahore
Repute summary
Oldest medical institution in Pakistan per its own history page (1860). Recognitions listed on the site: WHO, PMDC accredited, HEC approved, PMRC recognised. Journals: Annals of KEMU and JSPARK (quarterly); Annals of KEMU included in Journal Citation Report 2022 (Clarivate). 7 faculties; 9 attached hospitals. HEC quality rating 'W' 2017-18 (90.84%), per QEC page.
Number of campuses
1
Number of affiliated colleges
3
Number of program offerings
61

Recognition & affiliation

Chartered by
Government of Punjab
HEC recognition status
Recognised
HEC category (W4 to W1 / X)
W (HEC rating 2017-18, score 90.84%; per KEMU QEC page)

Admission & duration

Maximum annual intake, all programs
325

Scope & career

Career services office
Careers page exists at kemu.edu.pk/jobs (HR: info@kemu.edu.pk)

Campus life & safety

Hostel
Hostel fee notification issued 29 Apr 2024 (details in PDF)
Disability access and support
Guidelines for students with disabilities (HEC Policy 2021) listed under PG regulations

Programs and places to study

Professional doctorate (Pharm-D, DPT, DVM)Public

Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT)

KEMU, Nila Gumbad, Lahore, Lahore

5 years · Apply by Admissions open October/November

OtherPublic

M.D (Cardiology)

Cardiology (Medicine & Allied Specialties / Public Health), Lahore

5 years

See all program offerings (61)

Campuses

Affiliated colleges

Scholarships

Postgraduate programs

See all postgraduate programs (76)

Teaching hospitals

International links

  • Imperial College London, United Kingdom
    Other
  • McMaster University, Canada
    Other
  • University of Calgary, Canada
    Other
  • University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
    Other
  • Weill Cornell Medical College, Qatar
    Other
  • WHO-EMRO, Egypt
    Other

Useful links

  • AHS & DPT merit lists, Session 2026-2029 (1st 24 Dec 2025, 2nd 1 Jan 2026, 3rd 12 Jan 2026)
    UG
  • Annals of KEMU (quarterly journal; JCR 2022)
    Faculty, PG, Doctors
  • Careers at KEMU (faculty and staff jobs)
    Faculty, Doctors
  • Chief Minister Honhaar Undergraduate Scholarship (deadline extended 17 Sep 2025)
    UG
  • Clinical rotations and electives archive
    UG, PG
  • CM Punjab’s Green Initiative E-Bikes Scheme for Students
    UG
  • Competencies of Intermediate Examination OSCE Component for MD/MS
    PG
  • Complaint Cell, Punjab Higher Education Commission
    All
  • Conduct and Disciplinary Regulations 2015
    PG
  • Document verification of PG degrees: postgraduate section, Patiala Block (info@kemu.edu.pk)
    Doctors
  • Documentation Fee Charges for All Programs
    UG, PG
  • Fee Schedule for All Programs (Except MBBS), Session 2023-2024
    UG, PG
  • Fee Schedule for MBBS Program, Session 2023-2024
    UG
  • Fellowship Programs Curriculum
    PG
  • HEC National Digital Library Pakistan
    All
  • Institutional Quality Assessment and Effectiveness (QEC); HEC ‘W’ rating 2017-18, 90.84%
    All
  • JCAT admission notices (MD/MS/MDS; exams Feb, Apr, Aug, Oct)
    PG
  • JCAT general information
    PG
  • JCAT results
    PG
  • JSPARK, Journal of Society of Prevention, Advocacy and Research KEMU (quarterly)
    Faculty, PG, Doctors

Details are compiled from public sources and can change. Confirm fees, seats and recognition with the institution and its regulator before you apply. Read the disclaimer.